top of page

Don't Allow The Eye to Fool The Mind - A Short Novel | Chapter One

Photo from Google

Don't Allow The Eye to Fool The Mind - A Short Novel | Chapter One

There was no pearly white gate. The only reason I knew I was in a dark cavity was because I had just passed the entrance and it resembled the insides of a beast. The rock as red as fresh blood rose behind me with no ceiling in sight. As I walked ahead I could hear faint cries accompanied with what could only be described as breathing, but it was too uneven to be a human breathing.

I knew this was it, this was what religion talked about, what man feared. I had just entered the rings of hell. I felt the presence of the beast as if it was a living breathing creature. The stench of rotten flesh overwhelmed me and the sounds of tortured souls was getting louder as I walked deeper into the pit.

Then there was the voice, it came from inside and all around, "Welcome to your end, the end which will never end."

"Who are you? What are you?" I whispered quietly.

"Where am I?" I asked on the verge on breaking down.

"You know," the being echoed.

I did know. But I couldn’t believe myself. "You are the devil, I stuttered, quickly losing my composure. "Why, how, why am I here? I've lived as well as I could, I don’t deserve to be here."

The silence took over the space as my words died out; the thumping of the beast was all I heard. The screams faintly echoing in the background. It seemed like an hour went by before the response came.

"What else did you expect you worthless piece of shit," The voice was penetrating but calm, eerily calm. The kind of calm which you know will lead to something sinister.

"I don't know. I never believed any of this", I uttered. "Is that why I am here? I’m just a simple man. Why me?"

Silence. And before I could say a word I was interrupted by an ear splitting scream.

I continued trembling with fear. "They say the greatest trick you ever pulled was convincing the world you don't exist. But here you are and here I am, you are this being." A chill ran down my spine in anticipation of the answer.

"No, the greatest trick I ever pulled was convincing the world that there is an alternative."

"There is no God?" I shivered.

The cave trembled and with a blinding white light the cave’s temperature dropped and I stood frozen as I saw a figure well above 7 feet materialise in front of me.

To Be Continued...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page