top of page

Tasty’s The Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies


The year is ending and 2018 is beginning to brace us, so this time round I decided to try something new. For the “recipe” today, I will be reviewing Buzzfeed’s Tasty, The Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies! For those that do not know, the recipe was posted a couple of months ago and went really viral almost all over social media and gathering 2.5 million views on their YouTube channel in the few months of being posted. So let’s see if it really is “the best chewy” cookie.

Before I tell you what I think, here’s my deal, I have almost never in my life made a good cookie especially chocolate chip cookies. They either come out too hard, too soft and even burnt every now and then! So, to comfort my ego and to satisfy my undying need of making something decent I decided to try out this recipe once and for all.

For the full recipe please click on this link for complete measurements!

First off, as I looked through the recipe it seemed like any old chocolate chip cookie recipe. However, I read through the instructions and noticed that unlike the many recipes I’ve come across in the past Tasty was pretty specific with how the batter should look like at the beginning stages.

Hence, I began. The beginning stages were easy to combine and obviously, it was much easier to work with melted butter as opposed to room temperature butter:

Then came the adding of the eggs, this was when it got a little confusing for me, the eggs did not combine as quickly as it normally would and I began to panic. BUT I did not want to give up (and may have promised a deadline to my editor already) and continued mixing anyways. It took some time but eventually it turned into such a smooth looking, beautiful batter I have ever seen in my timeline of baking. Soon ribbons were dropping ever so delicately when I pulled up the whisk and then I was in love.

Now came the other part I was nervous about, adding the flour and baking soda that has already been sifted (I have overmixed and/or added too much flour before and it did not turn out pretty). Following the video, I folded the flour and wet mixture gently until they were combined. It took some time again but eventually it came together. Finally, I folded the chocolate chips, scooped the cookie dough out, placed them on a parchment paper and popped them in the oven. Now we wait.

Before the verdict from my friends and I, here are some changes that I made:

  1. I added a pinch of cinnamon because I always felt it added a little more of a tinge to it.

  2. Instead of using semi-sweet chocolate chips for the other half of the chocolate as mentioned in the recipe, I used all dark chocolate as I felt it would’ve been too sweet for me.

The changes are obviously optional I just felt like making some tinges just because I’m used to.

My verdict:

IT WAS DELICIOUS. They were perfect crisp on the sides and chewy in the center alongside the gooey melty chocolate. And I absolutely LOVED the dark chocolate as the cookie dough itself was sweet because of the sugars the dark chocolate perfect balances out everything. It was like a subway cookie, but you know, way better.

I loved it, but don’t take my word for it, here are the verdicts from my friends:

“Would you be my mother and bake for me everyday.”

- Saksham 2017

“This is so good oh my god. I love it”

- Maria 2017

“its nice!”

- Mr Fuadi 2017, as he proceeds to finish the whole thing

It is safe to say, Tasty has reserved bragging rights as yes, indeed, this is the best chewy chocolate chip cookie. I said it, my friends said it and even my lecturer. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe as long as you follow the instructions you would have yourself The Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies to indulge in or to give as a gift to others. You would not be disappointed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page